Share on Facebook
Share on X
Share on LinkedIn

Connecticut employers and employees work together as a vital component of the state’s economy. Whether you are an employer or currently employed in the state, it is critical that you understand wage and hour laws set forward by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, as well as state laws and statutes. 

These laws are in place to ensure all employees receive fair treatment and pay. If state and federal laws should differ, however, employers must follow the rule that offers the highest benefit to the employee. 

What are employer requirements? 

Under Connecticut’s minimum wage laws, all state employees must earn at least minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek. If an employee works over 40 hours a week, he or she will receive time and a half pay for each extra hour worked. Some workers, however, are exempt from overtime pay, including the following: 

  • Salespeople, primarily those who sell cars 
  • Salespeople who go door to door selling products 
  • Agricultural employees 
  • Labor Commissioner-defined administrative, executive or professional employees 
  • Taxicab drivers 
  • Law enforcement officers and firemen 

Companies with tipped employees, such as servers, busboys and food runners, must pay their workers less than minimum wage. However, the workers’ tips must add up to at least an hourly minimum wage. If there are not enough tips to add up to that amount for the day, the employer is responsible for making up the difference. 

What are employee rights? 

As a Connecticut employee, you have the right to earn pay for the hours you work each day and every week. Connecticut wage and hour laws cover issues involving lunch breaks, tips, rest breaks and overtime. All employees earn an unpaid lunch break of at least 30 minutes after working at least two hours for a scheduled eight-hour workday. Rest breaks are also required. 

This information is intended to educate and should not be taken as legal advice.