Share on Facebook
Share on X
Share on LinkedIn

Whether you are new to business or a veteran, you need to pay attention to the current labor laws in Connecticut. The legislators made several changes to the law in recent years.

Here are a few of the labor laws you should know.

Classifying And Paying Workers

You must correctly classify your workers for tax, overtime and benefits purposes. Employees come in three basic types:

  • Independent contractors – Similar to freelance employees, contractors must pay self-employment tax. In this case, you are not responsible for their taxes but still need to report their earnings.
  • Exempt employees – These workers do not receive overtime but must pass the duties and salary tests.
  • Non-exempt employees – These employees receive overtime according to Connecticut law.

Paying attention to the minimum wage increases is important when looking at wage laws. For example, the minimum wage was $13.00 per hour for 2021, $14.00 per hour for 2022 and $15.00 per hour for 2023.

Hiring And Recruiting Employees

Two of the most important hiring and recruiting requirements are:

  • With Connecticut’s Ban the Box law, you cannot inquire about prior arrests, criminal charges or convictions on a new application unless the position requires a fidelity or surety bond or you are otherwise required by law to inquire.
  • You must report a new hire to the state within 20 days of the date you hire that worker.
  • During the recruiting process, you must provide the wage range for the position when the applicant asks for it or before you make an offer.

As a Connecticut employer, you can face serious consequences from employees and the Internal Revenue Service if you do not keep up with the new state and federal laws.